
Rule 11 – Teeing Ground 
(R & A Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2010 – 2011) 

 

11-3 BALL FALLING OFF TEE 

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, 

it may be re-teed, without penalty.  However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these 

circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty. 

 

 

11-3/1 Stroke misses ball; ball then accidentally knocked off tee 

A player teed his ball within the teeing ground.  He made a stroke at the ball but missed it.  

He addressed he ball again and accidentally knocked it off the tee.  What is the ruling? 

A:  When the player made a stroke at the ball, it was in play and Rule 11-3 no longer 

applied.  When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player incurred a 

penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball (Rule 18-2b). 

 

Related Decision: 

Rule 18-2a/2 Ball Falling Off Tee When Stroke Just Touches it is Picked Up and Re-

teed. 

 

 

11-3/3 Original Bal Out of Bounds; Ball Played Under Stroke-and-Distance Procedure 

Falls Off Tee at Address 

A player played his original ball out of bounds from the teeing ground.  Under Rule 27-1, he 

teed up another ball.  When addressing the ball, he touched it and it fell off the tee.  What is 

the ruling? 

A:  There is no penalty, because a teed ball is not in play until a stroke has been made at 

it (see Definition of “Ball in Play”).  The ball may be re-teed (Rule 11-3). 

 

Related Decision: 

Rule 18-2a/19 Ball Moved Accidentally by Practice Swing Prior to Tee Shot. 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

STROKE 

A stroke is deemed to be the forward movement of the club, not backswing. 

 

Teeing Ground: If a player is on the forward movement of his swing and the ball 

(moves) falls off the tee, he can stop swing, and there is no penalty, and re-tee the ball. 

 

Course Other Than Tee Ground: If a player has commenced his swing and the ball moves 

he incurs a penalty, regardless of stopping or not, and the stroke must count. 

 

The Secret to Penalty or No-Penalty:  Is that on the teeing ground the ball is 

not in play until it has been played at. 

 


